Glen Campbell and Old Crow Medicine Show Ready New Releases

Country music icon Glen Campbell is set to release an album of cover songs that have “personally moved and inspired him.”

The ironically Titled “Meet Glen Campbell” (c’mon, it’s a covers album, is the listener really meeting Campbell?) will include Travis’ “Sing,” Tom Petty’s “Angel Dream” and “Walls,” The Replacements’ “Sadly Beautiful,” U2’s “All I Want Is You,” The Velvet Underground’s “Jesus,” and Jackson Browne’s “These Days,” among others.

Recorded in March and April at The Recording Studio and Jim Henson Studios in Los Angeles, Meet Glen Campbell is produced by Julian Raymond (Rosanne Cash, Fastball, Shawn Mullins, Wallflowers) with engineer/co-producer Howard Willing. The album  features musical contributions by Campbell contemporaries as well as younger rock and alt-country artists who joined him in the studio, including Cheap Trick’s Robin Zander, Roger Joseph Manning, Jr. and Jason Faulkner from Jellyfish, and Chris Chaney from Jane’s Addiction. Campbell’s sons and daughters, who regularly perform with their father, recorded backing vocals for the tracks.

Meet Glen Campbell full track list:
1.  Sing [Travis]
2.  Walls [Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers]
3.  Angel Dream [Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers]
4.  Times Like These [Foo Fighters]
5.  These Days [Jackson Browne]
6.  Sadly Beautiful [The Replacements]
7.  All I Want Is You    [U2]
8.  Jesus [Velvet Underground]
9.  Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life) [Green Day]
10. Grow Old With Me [John Lennon]

Also in new release news Old Crow Medicine Show  are set to release Tennessee Pusher on September 23rd.Listen to the first single “Caroline” at the band’s MySpace page.

Glen Campbell in Concert-Wichita Lineman


“I’ll Love You till I Die” – Top 30 Country/Roots Love Songs


Sure most genres deal with topic of love but few can work all the angles like country and roots music. Courting, marriage, sex, cheating, fighting, break-ups, shooting, disposing of bodies… it’s all there in all its heart-wrenching glory.

Some old, some new, all guaranteed to get to you some when mixed with tequila and memories.

I’m sure I let some beauties sip so feel free to add your own.

1. He Stopped Loving Her Today – George Jones
2. I Walk The Line – Johnny Cash
3. Angel Flying Too Close the Ground – Willie Nelson
4. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain – Willie Nelson
5. Always On My Mind – Willie Nelson
6. Valentine’s Day – Steve Earle
7. Still I Long For Kiss – Lucinda Williams
8. Marry Me – Drive By Truckers
9. Arlington – Ridley Bent
10. Dale Watson – Every Song I Write For You
11. Before The Next Teardrop Falls – Freddy Fender
12. Behind Closed Doors – Charlie Rich
13. Oh My Sweet Carolina – Ryan Adams
14. Carrying Your Love With Me – George Strait
15. Cowboy Take Me Away – Dixie Chicks
16. Crazy – Patsy Cline
17. Gentle on My Mind – Glen Campbell
18. Lovin You Against My Will – Gary Allan
19. Golden Ring – George Jones and Tammy Wynette
20. He’ll Have To Go – Jim Reeves
21. Hello Darlin – Conway Twitty
22. Melissa – Allman Brothers Band
23. Hello Walls – Faron Young
24. Help Me Make It Through the Night – Sammi Smith
25. I Cross My Heart – George Strait
26. Kiss An Angel Good Mornin’ – Charley Pride
27. It Only Hurts When I Cry – Dwight Yoakam
28. Please Break My Heart – Thad Cockrell and Caitlin Cary
29. Lovesick Blues – Hank Williams
30. I’m So Lonesome, I Could Cry – Hank Williams