Twang Nation Podcast Episode 13 – Jason Isbell , Patty Griffin , Shonna Tucker , George Jones


No overt themes in this episode, just great music.

One of my favorite bands Durham, North Carolina’s Hiss Golden Messenger kicks things off with the raucous Red Rose Nantahala from their new album Hawwe also take a listen o new work from Jason Isbell being supported by members of his band, the 400 Unit, and his newly betrothed Amanda Shires. Patty Griffin gives us the beautiful Mom & Dad’s Waltz from her new American Kid and we get an early listen to Shonna Tucker, and her new band Eye Candy.

And lastly we say goodbye to a country music legend with Choices by George Jones.

As always. I hope you like this episode of the Twang Nation Podcast and thank you all for listening. If you do tell a friend and let me know here at this site, Google+ , Twitter or my Facebook page.


Opening Song – “Mr. D.J” – by Dale Watson

1. Hiss Golden Messenger – “Red Rose Nantahala”- Album: “Haw” (Paradise of Bachelors)
2. Shannon McNally – Song: “If It Were Mine To Keep”- Album: “Light Walker Demos EP” (Sacred Sumac Music)
3. The Builders and the Butchers– Song: “Dirt In The Ground”- Album: “Western Medicine” (Badman Recording Co. – July 2nd)
4. The Dustbowl Revival – Song: “Hard River Gal”- Debut Album: “Carry Me Back Home” (self-released)
5. Jason Isbell – Song: “Traveling Alone” – Album: Southeastern (Southeastern Records/Thirty Tigers. – out June 11th)
6. Rita Hosking – Song: “Nothing Left Of Me” – Album: Little Boat (self-released)
7. Shonna Tucker and Eye Candy – Song: “Linda Please” – Album: ? ( ? )
8. Patty Griffin – Song: “Mom & Dad’s Waltz” – American Kid ( New West Records – out May 7 )
9. Eastbound Jesus – Song: “Katie Belle” Album: Northern Rock ( Self-released)
10. George Jones – Song: “Choices”

Listen Up! The Builders and the Butchers “Dirt in the Ground”

The Builders and the Butchers - Western Medicine

Dark roots band The Builders and the Butchers, (Ryan Sollee – vocals/guitar; Harvey Tumbleson – guitar/banjo/mandolin; Ray Rude – drums/organ/piano; Willy Kunkle – bass; Justin Baier – drums), are known for their for their rowdy live shows and their proclivity toward folks musics darker subject matter.

The Alaska-born / Portland-based and band’s new release, Dirt in the Ground , trods through similar stylistic territory. The chugging intro is a study in stark mortality said to be inspired by the Southern Gothic writings Cormac McCarthy. Sollee’s frantic wail threads symbolism of a patriarchal graveyard jig , fire, fear and guilt and our collective end as he wails as a matter-of-fact “one day soon you’ll be the dirt in the ground.” The song’s pressure-cooker conclusion is like a Mumford and Sons show gone off the rails.

Western Medicine is The Builders and the Butchers fourth release and will be released on July 2nd. Pre-order will be available soon through Badman Records site.

The Builders and the Butchers upcoming dates:

May 10 Austin TX-Anotnes
May 11 Denver CO-Bluebird Theater (w-The Thermals)
May 23 San Fransisco Ca-Cafe Du Nord
May 24 Visalia Ca-Cellar Door
May 25 Santa Cruz Ca-Crepe Place
May 26 Sacramento Ca-Harlow’s (w-Murder By Death)
June 8 Spokane Wa-Elkfest
June 22 Portland Or-Mississippi Studios ( CD release show)

Kris Kristofferson Talks About New Release

  • Kris Kristofferson and producer discusses Kristofferson’s upcoming Closer to the Bone (Sept. 29 on New West Records) and how they were trying to capture the intimacy that defined his last release This Old Road. Closer to the Bone will contain the song Good Morning John which comes from a letter Kristofferson wrote to Johnny Cash for a sobriety party. Kristofferson will perform on Nov. 1 at the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles, and on Nov. 10 he’ll receive the BMI Icon Award during the BMI Country Awards in Nashville. (
  • The New York Press has a great feature on Twang Nation favorite The Builders and The Butchers.
  • Malcolm Holcombe’s will release For the Mission Baby in the U.S. on September 29, 2009, and in the UK/Europe on October 5, 2009. The album was recorded in May ’09, produced, recorded and mixed by Ray Kennedy at Room and Board Studios in Nashville, TN.
  • In my ongoing quest to make San Francisco a hotbed of Americana/roots music I recently came across Rhubarb Whiskey. The band features Cindy Emchy on accordion and vocals and Boylamayka on dog-house bass,  guitar and mandolin and background vocals and are a blend of vaudeville, gypsy jazz and Southern-Gothic. Check ’em out. (Main Site | MySpace)

John Fogerty’s The Blue Ridge Rangers Rides Again To Be Released in September

  • John Fogerty will release his new album The Blue Ridge Rangers Rides Again (Rides? Shouldn’t it be “Ride?”) a  collection of covers and originals this September 1st. The release will feature new takes on classic Country and Americana tunes originally written by or for Ray Price, Buck Owens, the Everly Brothers and John Prine. The album is Fogerty’s a 36 year conceptual follow-up to 1973’s Blue Ridge Rangers, a post-Creedence solo release of gospel and country covers. That album had him playing all instruments but on this new release he has a powerhouse backing him – including Kenny Arnoff, Herb Pederson, Jodie Kenny,  Buddy Miller and more.
  • The Americana Music Association has announced that mandolin master Sam Bush will receive the Lifetime Achievement for Instrumentalist award at the 8th Annual Americana Honors & Awards ceremony scheduled for Thurs., Sept. 17 at the historic Ryman Auditorium.

Band Round-Up: The Builders and the Butchers

Portland, Oregon by way of  “hey! There’s Russia!” Alaska The Builders and the Butchers play a burgeoning fringe style of Southern Gothic music reflected in bands like vets Those Legendary Shack Shakers, newcomers  O’Death and Hank Williams III favorites Those Poor Bastards. Imagine O Brother where Art Though as performed by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds or Iggy and the Stooges and you won’t be far off.

This aesthetic is a favorite of mine and I think a natural progression of people’s, not just kid’s, demand for authenticity and passion in music. Kids reared on punk, metal and hip-hop reach back into their own heritage come up with music that feels real and reflects the outsider status of all these genre’s early practitioners as well as their passionate and unhinged performance style. Great stuff!