Emmylou Harris To Release “Wrecking Ball” Special Package Reissue

Emmylou Harris Wrecking Ball

American Songwriter reports that Nonesuch Records will reissue Emmylou Harris’ acclaimed 1995 album Wrecking Ball as a three-disc set. The reissue will contain a remastered version of the original album, which snagged the Grammy for Best Contemporary Folk Album in 1996. There will also be a bonus CD of recently unearthed demos and outtakes.

The reissue will also include a documentary DVD “Building the Wrecking Ball,” featuring studio footage and interviews with Harris and producer Daniel Lanois, as well as album contributors Steve Earle and Kate and Anna McGarrigle, and Neil Young, who wrote the title song.

Last month Harris celebrated her collaboration with Rodney Crowell, “Old Yellow Moon,” by winning the Grammy for Best Americana Album

In October of 2013 Emmylou Harris and Daniel Lanois, joined by Jim Wilson, Brian Blade and Malcolm Burn, performed “Wrecking Ball” in it’s entirety at the Marathon Music Works in Nashville. (see video below)

The Wrecking Ball reissues is slatted for release on April 8

In celebration of the reissue, Harris will hit the road with Lanois this spring. Check out tour dates below.

Disc 1

1. “Where Will I Be?” (Daniel Lanois)
2. “Goodbye” (Steve Earle)
3. “All My Tears” (Julie Miller)
4. “Wrecking Ball” (Neil Young)
5. “Goin’ Back to Harlan” (Anna McGarrigle)
6. “Deeper Well” (David Olney, Lanois, Emmylou Harris)
7. “Every Grain of Sand” (Bob Dylan)
8. “Sweet Old World” (Lucinda Williams)
9. “May This Be Love” (Jimi Hendrix)
10. “Orphan Girl” (Gillian Welch)
11. “Blackhawk” (Daniel Lanois)
12. “Waltz Across Texas Tonight” (Rodney Crowell, Emmylou Harris)

Disc 2 – Deeper Well: The Wrecking Ball Outtakes

1. Still Water 3:55
2. Where Will I Be (alternate version) 4:14
3. All My Tears 3:21
4. How Will I Ever Be Simple Again 3:36
5. Deeper Well 2:18
6. The Stranger Song 5:21
7. Sweet Old World (alternate version) 5:56
8. Gold 3:16
9. Blackhawk (alternate version) 4:40
10. May This Be Love (acoustic) 2:15
11. Goin’ Back to Harlan 2:35
12. Where Will I Be (alternate version) 2:13
13. Deeper Well 3:06

Emmylou Harris Wrecking Ball Tour Dates:

April 3 Los Angeles, CA The Wiltern
April 5 San Francisco, CA The Warfield
April 7 Royal Oak, MI The Royal Oak
April 8 Chicago, IL The Vic
April 11 Washington, DC The Lincoln Theatre
April 12 Brooklyn, NY TBA
April 13 Boston, MA The House of Blues
(additional tour dates to be announced)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.