Patty Griffin’s Shelved “Silver Bell” to be Released Sept. 24


Patty Griffin’s follow-up to 1998’s Flaming Red, which went unreleased by her then label A&M records, now has a street date. After being shelved for more than a decade, “Silver Bell” will be released on September 24 by A+M/Universal.

Though “lost” “Silver bell has hardly been forgotten. The album has been available on-line for years for fans willing to do a little digging. And Several of the songs from “Silver Bell,” “Top of the World,” “Mother Of God” and “Standing” found their way on her following album, “Impossible Dream.” Some songs have also been covered by others, “Truth #2″ was recorded by The Dixie Chicks, “What You Are” by The Greencards and “One More Girl” by The Wreckers

Though it’s preferable that music be released at the timing chosen by the artist, sometimes a shelving can build a demand and mystique that can work to the benefit of the release when it finally does become available. Either way, it will be nice to hear the tracks as she originally intended them.

Silver Bell Track Listing:

1) Little God
2) Boston
3) Perfect White Girls
4) Truth #2
5) What You Are
6) Silver Bell
7) Driving
8) Sooner Or Later
9) Top Of The World
10) Sorry And Sad
11) Making Pies
12) Mother Of God
13) One More Girl
14) Standing

I Like the Wreckers, Damn It!

I really didn’t want to like the Wreckers. On paper they’re everything I despise. Cherub-faced pop-singer (and Madonna label mate) hits a career bump and decides country music would be a wise diversion, enlists backup singer lifelong pal (Jessica Harp) to form a group, cut an album and do a cameo on One Tree Hill. ONE TREE FRIKKIN HILL?!But damn if it doesn’t work. For a pop-tart Michelle Branch has some serious singer-songwriter chops behind her, writing her first song at 14 and being single-minded about her career since then. And after several forced listenings I have to confess, I like the Wreckers.

Now Mss. Branch and Harp woo me further by releasing a recently releasing a live CD/DVD (this after one studio CD, but I will hold my tongue how superfluous this is) by recoding it at the Bowery Ballroom where I’ve spent many a beer-soaked evening abiding great music. I haven’t heard the live CD but I plan to, and if I like it I’ll review it.

I know the ladies have decided to go their separate ways, and this causes me to respect them even further for not chasing the easy money (aside from a superfluous live release that is.)

Track Listing:

1. The Good Kind
2. Love Me Like That
3. Way Back Home
4. Damn That Radio
5. Crazy People
6. Cigarettes
7. My Oh My
8. Different Truck
9. Tennessee
10. Lay Me Down
11. Leave The Pieces
12. Stand Still, Look Pretty
13. Rain

The Wreckers “Leave The Pieces (Live)”