Old 97s New Album “Twelfth” Out This Summer

Remember alt.country? The Old 97’s and their legions of fans worldwide haven’t. And those fans will be rewarded when the Dallas’ stalwarts deliver their 12th album, ‘Twelfth,’ on August 21st.

To drive home the title even further the cover features the most famous #12 of them all, the legendary Dallas Cowboys quarterback Roger Staubach airborne and in fine form.

The band began recording ‘Twelfth’ in Nashville’s Sputnik Sound Studio last spring, just as tornadoes ripped through the city as they watched from their rented condo.

Though The Old 97’s records and live performances are rollicking fun with a debauchery chaser, the new release will reflect singer and principal songwriter Rhett Miller’s newfound sobriety (five years this summer.) Though the topics might be more clear-eyed and focused if the newly releaseD cut ‘Turn Off The TV’ (see the Liam Lynch directed video below) is representative of the rest of the album, it’s still sure to be lots of fun.



‘Twelfth’ track list:
– Confessional Boxing
– Diamonds On Neptune
– I Like You Better
– Happy Hour
– Absence (What We’ve Got)
– Turn Off The TV
– This House Got Ghosts
– Why Don’t We Ever Say We’re Sorry
– Belmont Hotel
– Bottle Rocket Baby
– Our Year
– The Dropouts

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.