Lindi Ortega To Release ‘Faded Gloryville’ August 7th


On August 7th everyone’s favorite dark country chanteuse, Lindi Ortega, will release her fourth album ‘Faded Gloryville’ out on Grand Tour/Last Gang Records.

Ortega lends her signature crystal trill and lonesome wail to the album, created over three sessions and produced by Dave Cobb (Jason Isbell, Sturgill Simpson, Shooter Jennings), who also worked on her previous effort, ‘Tin Star’ recorded three songs at the Sound Emporium in Nashville. Colin Linden (T Bone Burnett), who was behind her “Cigarettes & Truckstops’ album., produced four songs and the Single-Lock Records heads Ben Tanner (Alabama Shakes) and John Paul White (Civil Wars) produced three songs tracked in Muscle Shoals, including a Nina Simone-inspired update of the Bee Gees classic “To Love Somebody.”

The press release reads “Although all three sessions were different, every one of them focused on live studio takes, capturing both the rough-edged rawness of Ortega’s live performances and the smooth salve of her voice.”

“There’s something about the Shoals that entices artists to forget themselves, to reimagine, to reinvent,” says John Paul White, whose harmonies can also be heard on three of the album’s tracks. “Lindi did a great job of immersing herself in what we do around here, yet retain that thing that makes her indelibly unique. That takes an amount of confidence that most do not have.”

The Canadian ex pat appears to have a cinematic frame of mind for her newest effort. To her “‘Faded Gloryville’ represents a state of mind — a place we all visit on our way to something bigger and better. It’s the dark, dreary town that looms on the near horizon, infinitely closer that the far-off destination we’re trying to reach. Most weary travelers pull their cars into ‘Faded Gloryville’ and stay awhile, beaten down from the long journey. Some are willing to dust themselves off and leave town in the morning, though, determined to chase after their goals regardless of the conditions.”

“‘Faded Gloryville’ isn’t just about music,” she told Rolling Stone Country. “It’s about anything that brings you down, whether it’s dreams not coming true or relationships not working out, and its message is this: you can go to place where you’re feeling really down about things, but it’s what you do afterwards — do you decide to reside there forever, or do you leave and make the situation better — that matters. You have to travel through ‘Faded Gloryville’ to get to Paradise.”

‘Faded Gloryville’ Pre-order

Tour Dates

‘Faded Gloryville’ – Track Listing
1. Ashes
2. Faded Gloryville
3. Tell It Like It Is (Hear below)
4. Someday Soon
5. To Love Somebody
6. When You Ain’t Home
7. Run-down Neighborhood
8. I Ain’t The Girl
9. Run Amuck
10. Half Moon

2 Replies to “Lindi Ortega To Release ‘Faded Gloryville’ August 7th”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.