Shovels & Rope To Release Sophomore Album “Swimmin’ Time” August 26

Shovels and Rope - Swimmin Time

Great news Twangers. The pride of Charleston, South Carolina, Shovels & Rope (Cary Ann Hearst and Michael Trent) release their sophomore album Swimmin’ Time (Dualtone Music) on August 26.

Swimmin’ Time is the highly-anticipated follow up to the band’s 2012 breakthrough debut O’ Be Joyful, which garnered unanimous praise from the press, followed on the heels by dozens of sold out shows, national television appearances, numerous year-end lists (including mine) booming album sales and major festival performances like Newport Folk, Lollapalooza and Sasquatch. Topping at all off the band also took home two of the top honors, Song of the Year (“Birmingham”) and Emerging Artist of the Year at the 2013 Americana Music Awards.

They should have been nominated for a GRAMMY as well, but I digress….

Whereas a good deal of O’ Be Joyful was recorded on the road when time allowed, Swimmin’ Time was done at their home studio in Charleston, SC. Trent again producing. Swimmin’ Time features 13 new songs that “that maintain the elemental Shovels & Rope songwriting and sound while incorporating new ingredients to the mix. From the heady harmonies of “The Devil Is All Around” and the quirky “Mary Ann & One-Eyed Dan” to the epic beauty of “After The Storm” and the Waits-ian “Ohio” fans are sure to be pleased and pleasantly surprised by some of the chosen new paths and dark turns.”

Sounds cool. No?

Here’s a song that the band is doing on the road that will be on Swimmin’ Time

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.