Unheard Townes Van Zandt To Be Released

According to a post at The Grateful Web  unheard Townes Van Zandt releases, that have been locked away as a result of multiple label acquisitions of the initial Poppy Records recordings, will finally see the light of day with support from Zandt’s estate on February 5, 2013.

Omnivore Recordings will release Sunshine Boy: The Unheard Studio Sessions and Demos 1971-1972, a  two-CD set of previously unavailable music from Towns’  spanning the studio albums High, Low & In Between and The Late Great Townes Van Zandt. One disc features outtakes and alternate takes/mixes of tracks  like To Live Is To Fly, presented in both alternate take and demo form, and the classic Pancho & Lefty, a mix made alongside the known version, but without the strings and horns of the commercial version. There will also be songs included that have never released until now.

If the music wasn’t enough (and it is!)  the release will offer unseen photos and comprehensive liner notes by musicologist Colin Escott (Hank Williams: The Biography.)   Escott  writes “alternate versions add an entirely new dimension, like seeing someone you thought you knew so well in a new light. The new songs are simply good to have when it seemed the barrel was empty. And so here are more than two hours of Townes Van Zandt — music unheard since the engineer peeled off a little splicing tape to seal the box 40 years ago.”

Pre-order here

Track listing:

Disc One: Studio Sessions
1. T for Texas
2. Who Do you Love
3. Sunshine Boy
4. Where I Lead Me
5. Blue Ridge Mountains
6. No Deal
7. Pancho & Lefty (Alternate 1972 mix without strings and horns)
8. To Live is to Fly
9. You Are Not Needed Now
10. Don’t Take it Too Bad
11. Sad Cinderella
12. Mr. Mudd & Mr. Gold
13. White Freight Liner Blues
14. Two Hands
15. Lungs
16. Dead Flowers

Disc Two: Demos
1. Heavenly Houseboat Blues
2, Diamond Heel Blues
3 To Live is to Fly
4. Tower Song
5. You Are Not Needed Now
6. Mr. Mudd & Mr. Gold
7. Highway Kind
8. Greensboro Woman
9. When He Offers His Hand
10. Dead Flowers
11. Old Paint
12. Standin’


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.