Jason Isbell to Release New Solo Album, “Southeastern” June 11

jason isbell southeastern

Jason Isbell will release Southeastern on June 11 via Southeastern Records/Thirty Tigers. This will be his second solo album since 2007’s debut Sirens of the Ditch released shortly after his split from the Drive-By Truckers. Southeastern contains 12 new Isbell compositions and reportedly has “some of the most personal songs of self-reflection and discovery he has written to date.”

Southeastern is a more personal release from Isbell as he deals with new beginnings, like the recent marriage to Amanda Shires and his now yearlong sobriety, without being mawkish pr getting on a soapbox.

The album will offer a duets with Amanda shires Traveling Alone and Stockholm with Kim Richey and will feature 400 Unit members Derry deBorja (keyboards) and Chad Gamble (drums.) The album was produced by Dave Cobb (Jamey Johnson, The Secret Sisters).

Southeastern Track Listing

Cover Me Up
Traveling Alone
Flying Over Water
Different Days
Live Oak
Songs That She Sang In The Shower
New South Wales
Super 8”
Relatively Easy

4 Replies to “Jason Isbell to Release New Solo Album, “Southeastern” June 11”

  1. Excited. He’s a great musician. The recent album with the 400 Unit “Here we Rest” was one of the best Americana / Twang albums of the year.

  2. Pingback: chewbone – Jason Isbell to Release New Solo Album, “Southeastern” June 11

  3. Saw him when he supported Ryan Adams at Sheffield U.K
    thought he was superb, songs were great and his Southern drawly voice was great

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.