2008 Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

From CMT.com – Emmylou Harris, Tom T. Hall, the Statler Brothers and country-bluegrass music pioneer Ernest “Pop” Stoneman are the newest inductees into the Country Music Hall of Fame. The inductions were announced Tuesday (Feb. 12) at a press conference held at the Ford Theater in Nashville’s Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum.

Except for Stoneman, who died in 1968, all the new members were on hand to comment on the honor. With the addition of these four figures, the Hall of Fame will have 105 members.

Although membership in the Hall of Fame is conferred by the Country Music Association, this is the first year the inductions will be entirely separate from the CMA Awards Show, where they used to be formally recognized. This year, the official induction will take place at the annual medallion ceremony tentatively set for April 27.

4 thoughts on “2008 Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.